Geranium seeds

Seeds of wellness for body, mind and spirit

My working playlist for a friend in need

on October 17, 2012

This is what I feel like sometimes when I am singing in my car.

I’m not going to pretend that I’m up on the music trends of the day, or that I have a heightened talent for finding great obscure music out there. Truth is I am often the last one to know about a great new band or sound, but I sure do enjoy many different kinds of music.

Sometimes when I am listening to the radio or to my ipod I do a lot of daydreaming or pretending (OK, pretty much all of the time). At times, and especially if I’m driving, I pretend that I am performing whatever song I’m singing — sometimes at small venues like a coffee house, sometimes in big concert halls. In my head, I have sung duets with Josh Groban, John Mayer, and Jason Mraz. Each time I think we complement each other really well.

If I am not performing the song in my head, sometimes I am making playlists and wondering to whom I would send that song and in what circumstance. I have a working playlist that I have envisioned sending to a friend who might be in need of encouragement or an affirmation of support (or to my husband, or child, in a similar circumstance). I am often adding songs to the playlist, but sometimes I forget to write them down.

Sadly, I have never actually acted on my fantasy of sending a CD to a friend with all of my picked songs. Maybe someday. Meanwhile I am sharing these with you so all of my daydreaming will not go completely to waste. Be advised, most if not all of the songs on this playlist are kind of mellow… I guess that is my mood when I am daydreaming about a friend in need… If you scroll all the way down to the end you will get the nice treat of checking out my number one song.

1) When you’ve got trouble, by Liz Longley (this one I mostly envision sharing with my husband or child, but could be shared with a friend too I guess).

2) Don’t forget, by Brett Dennen

3) Let it be me, by Ray LaMontagne

4) Can’t go back now, by The Weepies

5) It will be me, by Kristin Chenoweth

6) Lucky, by Kat Edmonson

7) Hold on (Change is Coming), by James Grear & Company

8) Stand by me, by Tracy Chapman

And now for the treat I promised… enjoy!
* Image from http://howtowinakaraokecontest.anythingkaraoke.com/

2 responses to “My working playlist for a friend in need

  1. Hi Alice — thanks for this post. Have you found the app Songza? Or there’s probably others…. I love to make my own song lists and then share them with others. I’ve done this in the past through facebook. I’d love to be able to listen to your play lists….. you know, I’m sure you have lots of spare time to create some (ha ha)! :) Amy

    • Amy! I’m sorry it has taken me this long to reply to your comment! (Blame it on the holiday season). Thanks a bunch for stopping by, reading and letting me know about this app… I will definitely check it out! Have a great week~

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

